Tags

, , , , , ,

A beautifully cold winter day here in the southwest United States. Quiet reigns as aircraft noise try to penetrate the low ceiling hovering over us. The weather forecast: snow.

Desert, snow? Yes, it snows in the desert. Particularly in a polar desert.

Yule and Christmas were wonderfully light and spent with loved ones. This was the best holiday season in a long time. Although I am sorry to see the holidays coming to an end, the New Year is around the bend and that brings me to the next task at hand. The dare.

A few months ago, I wrote in this very blog how my son dared me to purchase a Crock Pot recipe a day calendar. I did and the challenge begins this Thursday. Today, I am preparing my grocery list for the next weeks worth of slow cooker meals that will be our dinner for the next year. This isn’t a matter of whether or not we will actually eat what is scheduled but to see if using a slow cooker in the busy world of mine is doable. Plus, anything I can do to make my son put his foot in his mouth is worth the effort.

Some changes will need to be made to the recipes primarily do to geographic location and food allergies. I will attempt to blog each day’s meal to the best of my ability.

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday and has a great New Year.

