Tags

, , , ,

Recently, after my grueling day, I poured a glass of wine, grabbed my new knitting project and sat down to watch my recorded tv shows. After getting settled, and of course getting the cats settled, I took a sip of my wine. It tasted funny. So I tried it again, no something is wrong, it’s not just me. I went and looked at the label on the bottle and to my surprise, one of my favorite wineries now adds high fructose corn syrup. 

If you are saying “so what?” then you are one of the millions of Americans that consume these additives on a regular basis. To someone that does not consume corn syrup or high fructose syrup, the product tastes like a watered down, oversugered, version of the original. I’m not going to get into why this garbage is in our food or what it actually does to the human body. That’s your choice. If you want to know, then look it up. 

Needless to say, I will no longer purchase products from that winery. I have even emailed my other favorite wineries and verified that they do not and have no intentions of adding such things to their products.

I should not be surprised since I recently found that those ingredients are now being added to simple products such as flavored extracts. I have found two manufactures that sell extracts without high fructose corn syrup and corn syrup but you have to look for them. 

Even more disturbing, I saw an article about a request to add it to milk products. I like the little chocolate milk containers as a treat when I go grocery shopping and there are two distributors that I have found so far that does not add those additives.

At the rate this is going, I can serious see in 10 years that I will be living on a farm in the middle of no where producing all of my own food. The current state of our food supply is critically unhealthy, even fresh produce, with no insight to improving any time soon.

