Tags

, ,

What began as a normal day yesterday became a normal day only amplified. After I picked up my basket from the co-op, I decided to go ahead and get the rest of the grocery shopping out of the way. It was still early, the temperature hadn’t soared yet, the locals were still in bed and everything was peaceful.

Since the store was empty, I decided to go ahead and look closer at the extracts. The intent was to hopefully break out some creative juices for ice cream flavors. Upon further inspection, I saw big bold red letters across one box. NO CORN SYRUP ADDED.

My jaw dropped. Nothing is sacred. There is no reason for there to be any sweetener to be added to extracts. I guess I looked confused because one of the store employees asked me what I was looking for.

I shouldn’t be surprised but I am disgusted. So much for the convenience of the local grocery store.

After paying for my goodies, I loaded up my truck and was very much ready to go home. The heat was starting, the people were moving, the noise was rising and the stupidity was raging. When I went to start the truck, nothing. Tried it again, nothing.

The fixer in me took over. It took me about 5 seconds to realize the problem after the whole disgruntlement of a vehicle breakdown in the middle of a heat wave with groceries in the car. I started laughing, it’s the best way to relieve my self of frustration. I phoned one of my boys to come get the groceries, the mechanic could take my truck and then I proceeded to try and get a tow truck.

As much as I love the ease of technology, it seems to work properly less and less of the time. Of course at this time my phone would go apeshit and decide to drop every phone call I made to try and get a tow truck. What are we paying for? Slavery. We are slaves to the companies and their shotty service at an outrageous expense. Just before I reached the point of throwing it across the parking lot, I decided I needed some water and I didn’t bring my water bottle with me (silly me, I wasn’t going to be long) so I went back into the store. Now the vendors had aisles blocked, barely even stocking. The water fountain was gone, I had to go to the opposite side of the store and buy a bottle of water. I despise purchasing bottled water. I almost grabbed a soda full of high fructose corn syrup just to keep from buying bottled water. My hatred of corn syrup won, the bottle of water was bought.

I get outside and wouldn’t you know it? My phone worked with no problems. I really miss pay phones and water fountains. The again I miss happy people, cheerful holidays, and customer service. Fortunately, that was the worst part of my day. The tow truck showed up quickly and my truck decided to work correctly after it was dropped off so there was no bill. The irritation was more than enough payment I guess.

Now I’m leary of my truck. Experience has taught me that it will do it again and this time it will be at the worst possible time. That’s ok. I’m keeping my phone charged, towing and mechanic information handy, and I even have an envelope filled out for the key drop box in case the shop is closed when it happens again.

It takes a moment or two to realize if that is the worst day I have had in sometime than I was doing great. Rehashing the day just presented a lot of irritation. Irritation that I need to control my reactions to better. Better than I was but not as good as I should be, in time I will get there.

Have a Fabulous Sunday!

