Tags

, , , ,

I spent yesterday milling berries for flour. I am impressed that this mill did not break right away like the electric one I had tried before. This manual one works great!

Image

Top bowl: Soft White Wheat Berries

Left bowl: home milled flour

Right bowl: store bought unbleached flour

You can’t see it in well in this picture but they are different colors. The store bought is more brown and darker than the home milled flour. The texture of the store flour is like powdered chalk and the texture of the home milled flour is soft.

I have a new respect for colonial women. I always prided myself on my ability to multitask. After spending 4 hours yesterday milling 4 types of berries into flour, I came to understand the need for the amount of children many families bared. I am surprised that my body isn’t really screaming at me because it was one hell of a workout.

When I thought the times before mills were invented, I am impressed that many culture used rocks to make flour. Talk about a task that took all day. I will stick with using the mill. In the next couple of days, I plan to make a couple batches of the same bread I was making before to see what the differences are and which combination we like best.

Cost can be a big issue if you’re on a tight budget. I could not find a mill locally so I ended up shopping online. The first mill was given to me, even though it stated it could mill berries and spices on the box, when reading the fine print in the booklet, it says do not use for anything but coffee. I did not see this before using it. The store will not exchange it due to an agreement with the company. The manufacture will not fix it because it was used for something other than it was made for even though it is stated on the box that it will mill the product I needed it for. After the run around and extremely poor methods of business that seem to plague today’s society, I sucked it up and ordered one online. My final thoughts for the electric one was that I am glad I have the ability and experience to replace the fusible link myself and I will never purchase another product from them.

The second mill is hand crank and cost me $66.77 with shipping from Everyday Kitchens online. I chose the Victorio Grain Mill Model VKP1012. It can only mill specific hardness of grains such as wheat berries and rice and a few others and is for milling small batches (1-2 cups of berries at a time). It may be limited but cost was a major factor here and I don’t need large batches. The mill is easy to assemble, clean, use and put away. I received it in a timely manner and I was impressed with the great job it did. I didn’t order the least expensive hand crank mill because of all of the bad reviews I saw for it where as the one I bought didn’t have anything against it. Mills vary greatly in price according to what they can mill, what they are made of and the type of use they are made for. In fact, I really should add a positive comment for the product I bought.

Purchasing wheat berries, where I live buying locally is not an option. So everything was bough online. I originally purchased all four types of berries through Azure Farms online. When I received the shipment, one of the types of berries was not in the box so I had to reorder it. I chose Vitacost.com for the last one because of cost. Buying all of them through Azure Farms is less expensive however if you only need one bag of one kind, Vitacost.com is cheaper.

Off to start my day, Have an awesome one!

