Tags

, , ,

Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday to me, I belong in a zoo, Happy Birthday to me.

Good morning to the world. I woke up on this morning, which I see as a good sign, for the day on my calendar to read my 40th birthday. Funny, I don’t feel any older, still just as broken. It got me thinking, why is age so taboo? Why is growing older as hushed up secret that is always made fun of? I’m proud to have made it to 40.

Throughout my life, I never really received much in the line of birthday wishes. I was always such an important day to me and I always felt it should be important to anyone that truly cares. I had the habit of buying my own gift and taking myself out to my favorite restaurant, Carrabba’s. My son would go with me and my husband. My boy would always say Happy Birthday mom, I never expected a child to remember such a day for his parents at least until adulthood. I never needed gifts but I did expect a “Happy Birthday” from those that I loved and maybe a hug to go with it.  

I’m glad to see that this year is different. My boys are taking to me Carrabba’s for lunch, one of them has to work tonight. I have already received more Happy Birthday’s then I have ever received before. Thank you to everyone for the good vibes on my day. I look foreword to your special day. Thank you for making this birthday a memorable one.

As Mark Twain said,“Do not complain about growing old. It is a privilege denied to many.”

